National History

Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority was founded at Longwood University in Farmville, Virginia on November 15, 1901. Longwood, which at the time was a teaching school known as the State Female Normal School, was the first college in Virginia established for the higher education of women.

The five founders of Alpha Sigma Alpha: Virginia Boyd Noell, Juliette Hundley Gilliam, Calva Watson Wooton, Louise Cox Carper, and Mary Williamson Hundley established the sorority in order to “cultivating lifelong friendships, and to perform such deeds and to mould such opinions as will tend to elevate and ennoble womanhood in the world.”


Local History

The Gamma Iota Chapter at the Rochester Institute of Technology was founded on May 23, 1964. Before becoming a nationally recognized chapter of Alpha Sigma Alpha, we were a local sorority known as Delta Omicron.